“It’s Not Over Yet”

image

Tonight I got a phone call from my sister-in-law Paige who was driving and listening to Air One radio station when she heard the band “for King & Country” discussing their song, “It’s Not Over Yet”. The brothers/band-mates explained that their younger sister suffers from chronic Lyme Disease, the same disease because of which Victoria (my friend I’ve been requesting prayers for) and I and countless others across the world suffer and fight. Their sister’s battle with Lyme Disease was the inspiration for their song! Lyme is a complicated and controversial disease that is not very well-known or well-respected which adds to the feelings of frustration and isolation we experience because of it. I am SO thankful for the friends (like Victoria) and so many others out there that I’ve met along the way, friends who also suffer from Lyme and provide a sense of companionship and understanding that we crave. God has been SO GOOD in bringing us together, people from all over the world who have kindred spirits and warrior hearts!

Even when we feel like we’re lost with no direction and we don’t know where to turn next because of this disease, we hear God whisper to us over and over through you, our friends and family, through music and especially through scripture, “I have plans for your life. You have great purpose in me. Continue to place your hope and your trust in me. Hang on, because I will take what Satan meant for evil and use it for your good! I will teach you true contentment, joy, peace and love; and I will use your struggle for my glory! Someday you will be in Heaven with me where there will be NO MORE PAIN and NO MORE DISEASE! Don’t give up because it’s not over yet.”

The brothers wrote the song “It’s Not Over Yet” to encourage their little sister because there had been some extremely tough moments in her battle with Lyme, moments when she suffered so greatly and had lost so much of her life that she felt she had lost her purpose here on Earth. She felt so discouraged. That is a feeling that I can relate to and I know Victoria can and many of you others who are fellow Lyme-fighters or who have struggled with other illnesses, setbacks and struggles in life. My sister was so excited to call and tell me that I now have a song written specifically about battling Lyme Disease that I can rock out to and allow it to be one of my anthems to keep me going when life with Lyme Disease gets hard! Tears filled my eyes when I listened to the song for the first time while understanding the meaning and intent behind the lyrics, and I was SO ENCOURAGED. I hope you will feel the same way when you listen to the song and the story behind it!

image

Thank you SO MUCH for praying for me over the years as I continue to fight and for praying for my sweet friend Victoria as she underwent heart surgery today! Please continue to pray for her recovery and healing after this surgery. It won’t be an easy road and she will need encouragement and prayers of comfort and peace during this season as well. Please continue to pray over the doctors and nurses who care for her and for her parents John and Teresa and brother Landon. Pray that Victoria is in less pain and that she tolerates her medications and their side effects well. THANK YOU SO MUCH for coming on this journey with us, praying and trusting, hoping and crying, celebrating and praising. It is such a beautiful thing to see you unite in spirit and lift Victoria up! I feel the same way when I feel you lifting me and my husband and family up as well. I know from my own experience how much it truly means to feel like you’re not alone, and be reassured that people love you and that they are going to fight alongside you and go the Father on your behalf! You are BLESSINGS!

Here is a link to the video of the brothers explaining the meaning of the song and why they wrote it!

And here is a link to the actual song so you can have a listen! I’ve also posted the lyrics below! God bless you all!

“It’s Not Over Yet”
for King & Country

They are inside your head
You got a voice that says
You won’t get past this one
You won’t win your freedom

It’s like a constant war
And you want to settle that score
But you’re bruised and beaten
And you feel defeated

This goes out to the heaviest heart

[Chorus:]
Oh, to everyone who’s hit their limit
It’s not over yet
It’s not over ye-et
And even when you think you’re finished
It’s not over yet
It’s not over ye-et

Keep on fighting
Out of the dark
Into the light
It’s not over
Hope is rising
Never give in
Never give up
It’s not over

Yea-et-et, woah
Yea-et-et, woah

Oh, game set match
It’s time to put it in your past, oh
Feel the winter leavin’
It’s redemption season
Long live the young at heart (Here we are)
Cheers to a brand new start (Here we are)
We’re revived and breathing
To live a life of freedom

[Chorus:]
Oh, to everyone who’s hit their limit
It’s not over yet
It’s not over ye-et
And even when you think you’re finished
It’s not over yet
It’s not over ye-et

Life is a race we run
So run till the race is won
Don’t you ever give up (Here we are)
Oh no never give up (Here we are)
Life is a race we run
So run till the race is won
Don’t you ever give up (Here we are)
We will never give up (Here we are)

[Chorus:]
Oh, to everyone who’s hit their limit
And even when you think you’re finished
It’s not over yet
Oh, to everyone who’s hit their limit
It’s not over yet
It’s not over ye-et
And even when you think you’re finished
It’s not over yet
It’s not over ye-et

Keep on fighting
Out of the dark
Into the light
It’s not over
Hope is rising
Never give in
Never give up
It’s not over

Yea-et-et, woah
Yea-et-et, woah
Yea-et-et, woah
Yea-et-et, woah

– Love to all!

Alyssa

Leave a Reply

